Counting days

Gill Eapen
1 min readJul 24, 2021

--

As I counted the days down from an unmovable horizon

As the shadow of the past became longer and longer

As the remaining future became ever shorter

It was clear that the truth will remain hidden forever

..

I tried to fall into deep sleep

But then I saw disturbing images that kept me awake

I tried to escape into the unknown

It was clear I cannot succeed

..

As some shouted from the pulpit and others sang for mercy

As some made policy and others sought to stay alive

As some proposed theories and others tried experiments

It was clear that failure is near

..

As time ticked by for those attempting to live in the present

And the future never arrived for the rest

And for some, stuck in the past, it seemed irrelevant

It was clear that time segregates and discriminates

..

As science clashes with religion, logic with news

As the markets rise and then fall

As the funeral pyre burns in synchrony

It was clear the end is near

--

--

Gill Eapen

Gill Eapen is the founder and CEO of Decision Options ®, Mr. Eapen has over 30 years of experience in strategy, finance, engineering, and general management